Alright so I am going to keep talking to you.

Oh what a weekend! Friday night we hosted a Slumber Party at Margo’s for all the ladies in J and Mike’s (Margo’s husband) BOLC class. A few of the girl came expecting pajamas, chick flicks, ice cream, and pillow fights. For those of you who don’t know what an adult Slumber Party, educate yourself (www.slumberparties.com). It’s basically a Tupperware party… but with an adult theme, catered to the ladies. You’re probably getting the idea about now. Anywho it was a blast!! The consultant that came out, Connie M., was incredible and everyone had such a great time with it!  I ended up getting completely strapped to a door! Lol it was all in good fun though. Margo and I made a food and drink spread to be envious of!


You know you LOVE our cookies! They are so easy to make too, just use a heart shaped cookie cutter and icing, all you got to do for the bottoms is cut the corner off of the heart.

  
This Fluffy Pumpkin Dip was soooo simple to make and absolutely delicious!! You can check out the recipe here – http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Pumpkin-Fluff-Dip/Detail.aspx

We took the after party to a local bar/club called Cheers which is just outside of post. This was my first and last time there. Not my choice for a hangout spot. It was super smokey, the people were extremely rude, and to add to the atmosphere a fight broke out, someone got stabbed, the cops showed up, and everyone had to leave. Hmm… yeah, definitely not going back there again.

Saturday night was J’s class’ graduation banquet. C’mon yall know its fun to get all dolled up every now and then. I got to wear my beautiful red ball gown that I got for the Heart Association Ball in February (but the dress came late this year so this was my first time wearing it). Everyone looked so good, and the gentlemen and ladies of the MP BOLC 09-12 class looked stunning in their ASUs  (Army Service Uniform – think Dress Blues), and all their dates looked beautiful! It was a great time and even better was the fact that it was held in the banquet hall of our favorite bar which happens to be right across the street from our apartment. Score!

 

MP BOLC 09-12 Don’t they all look great?

So this weekend was a great time! Although Sunday was a bit of a disappointment, with the Cowboys losing to the Giants. Sad Face.

Last night I was feeling a bit under the weather so we decided it would be a perfect night for soup. I found a few different tortellini soup recipes and more or less combined what I liked from them and made them cookable in a pot over the stove top versus a crockpot since we are cooking in a tiny hotel/apartment kitchen with limited cooking tools (I had to bring a toaster oven to use since we don’t have a real oven. Imagine cooking meals for 4-8 people in a freakin’ toaster oven! Needless to say, my improvised cooking skills have increased during our time here). The soup turned out absolutely DELICIOUS! So I wanted to share the recipe I came up with for yall in case anyone wanted to try it. I never measure anything so the measurements are just guesstimates, feel free to add or decrease anything to your liking. I am not really sure what to call this how about… Creamy Tortellini Spinach Soup. Sounds good.

Creamy Tortellini Spinach Soup

Ingredients:
One 10 ounce can Cream of Chicken Soup
One 10 once can Cream of Mushroom with garlic soup
About 2 cups water
One 14 ounce can vegetable broth
2 cups sliced fresh mushrooms
1/2 chopped onion
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon dried basil, crushed
Dash of salt
Dash of black pepper
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano, crushed
1/4 cup milk
One package dried cheese tortellini
6 cups or half a bag of fresh baby spinach leaves or torn spinach
Finely shredded Parmesan cheese

Directions:
1.Place coup mixes in pot over medium heat. Gradually add the water, stirring until smooth. Stir in broth, mushrooms, onion, garlic, basil, salt, and oregano.
2. Cover and bring to a slow boil, boil for about 6-8 minutes then bring heat back down and let simmer for up to an hour covered.
3. Add milk and stir. Stir in dried tortellini. Cover and cook on low-heat setting for 10-15 minutes.
4. Stir in fresh spinach. Sprinkle individual servings with black pepper and Parmesan cheese.

I think chicken would be really good in this, so if anyone wants to try and add chicken let me know how it comes out! J requested it for next time we make it so if I beat you to it, I will post the results! Sorry I didn’t snap any photos, I will next time for ya and update this.

Tonight’s menu: Toasted Sesame Ginger Salmon (http://www.howsweeteats.com/2012/03/toasted-sesame-ginger-salmon/) with green beans. I’ve made this before and highly recommend it!

Days left in Missouri: 9

Oh oh oh!! I almost forgot… HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!! 

The pumpkin J and I carved this year

Leave a comment