Toes in the Sand

Another week down, this one was a short week and a nice long three-day weekend thanks to South Africa’s holiday Youth Day on Friday. Not only is it a three-day weekend, but the weather has decided to play nice and give us some warm(ish) sunny days all weekend!

I am finally figuring out the public transport, and although I have to walk about 20 mins to the Jammie (UCT student/staff free bus system) stop, I have found it to be very convenient. I also joined the UCT gym and it feels so good to be getting into a routine and settling into “living.” The gym is definitely not the most up-to-date and is very crowded with students that leave weights everywhere, but at $45 for a whole year it cannot be beat. It’ll definitely work out just fine. All my muscles are sore and I love it!

Yesterday, Wicus drove me down to Camps Bay. He was playing squash (I think it’s a game like handball, but I am not positive) all morning, but happened to be right next to the beach so he offered me a lift. I spent the entire morning just relaxing on the beach listening to the waves crash against the shore and playing with lots of dogs.

19149268_10210206970750521_3189269122992752108_n.jpg

19225014_10210206971030528_1470944217888058718_n.jpg

19146299_10210206970910525_506001360179567710_n.jpg

Camps Bay is an absolutely beautiful area and very typical beach town vibe to it with restaurants and coffee shops on the outer rim of sand covered beaches. It was perfect scenery for some good ole head clearing.  After the beach, I met Layce, one of the cutest little Africanis mutts. Layce was found in the streets with a leg that was so badly injured it had to be amputated, but she is adjusting to the tripod life very well and is now looking for her forever home. Naturally, this story just tugged right on my heart strings. Unfortunately, I have only been here for two weeks and am not even moved into my new house yet AND have Diesel coming (eeep I cannot wait for him!!), so I am not in the situation to provide that home for her. She’s super cute and sweet though so I imagine it won’t be very long until she gets adopted.

19224856_10210206971270534_7870935133056676844_n.jpg

I went over to one of my colleagues’ houses for a nice Friday night braai and boy, was the food delicious!! It was a really, really perfect holiday Friday! 😊

Tomorrow I am going on a long hike (4-6 hours long) and am really excited to see some new areas and go be all adventurous. Don’t worry, I will take lots of photos!

Right now my number one priority and biggest struggle is getting my work visa. Since I came here on such short notice, I came to SA on a 90-day tourist visa (which I can renew for another 90 days). It is amazing the amount of paperwork, forms, qualifications, hoops, Government sweet-talking, etc that you have to go through to get a visa here. It’s a huge process. I am working on gathering up everything needed to get a Critical Skills Visa for the profession of “animal scientist.” This will be a one year visa that I can renew for a 5 year visa or after about a year or so, I can apply for permanent residency which is what I intend to it. It will just make life all around easier. Everyone cross your fingers for me that this whole process goes smoothly! I am also working on all the paperwork, blood work, examinations, and everything else for getting Diesel over here. If it all goes well, he will be here by my side in August! My heart will be so happy to be with him again.

Well I think I am going to wrap up tonight with some tea and a movie. I hope you have a nice weekend too!

Leave a Reply

